Laws for driving while impaired vary from state to state. It is important to understand North Carolina state law when facing DWI charges, especially for those who might not be familiar with the possible legal consequences that could lie ahead. Those who have a more thorough understanding of their charges and potential consequences might be better equipped to face their criminal allegations.
The blood alcohol content legal limit is .08%, which applies to drivers who are over the age of 21. There is a zero tolerance policy for underage drivers, so police can file charges for even very low BACs. A driver with a BAC at .15 percent or higher can be charged with an aggravated DWI.
If convicted, drivers will face one of six levels of punishment. A level five punishment is the least severe while an aggravated level one is the most serious. Drivers are also very likely to lose their driving privileges for as little as 30 days to as long as four years or even permanently. The length of the license suspension depends on whether it is a driver’s first, second, third or more offense. Convicted drivers who had BACs of at least .14% will have to go to Alcohol and Drug Education Traffic School.
North Carolina DWI laws are complicated, which makes fighting this type of criminal charge exceptionally difficult. A conviction can negatively impact a person’s personal and professional life, so finding help to navigate this process can be helpful. For some, this means speaking with an experienced attorney who understands just how serious the situation is.